Islamic Calendar Today

The Islamic Calendar,or Muslim Calendar, or Hijri Calendar is a lunar calendar consisting of 12 months in a year of 354 or 355 days. It is used to date events in many Muslim countries today. It is also used by Muslims to determine the proper days of Islamic holidays and rituals, such as the annual period of fasting and the proper time for the pilgrimage to Mecca.

The Islamic calendar employs the Hijri era whose epoch was retrospectively established as the Islamic New Year of AD 622. During that year, Muhammad and his followers migrated from Mecca to Medina and established the first Muslim community (ummah), an event commemorated as the Hijra.

Use our online service to find today's Islamic date and convert any date(1951-2100) from gregorian to hijri and hijri to gregorian.

Islamic Calendar Today

Western Date:April 13, 2024
Hijri Date:Shawwal 4, 1445

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Ramadan 22
Ramadan 23
Ramadan 24
Ramadan 25
Ramadan 26
Lailah al-Qadr
Ramadan 28
Ramadan 29
Ramadan 30
Eid al-Fitr
Shawwal 2
Shawwal 3
Shawwal 4
Shawwal 5
Shawwal 6
Shawwal 7
Shawwal 8
Shawwal 9
Shawwal 10
Shawwal 11
Shawwal 12
Shawwal 13
Shawwal 14
Shawwal 15
Shawwal 16
Shawwal 17
Shawwal 18
Shawwal 19
Shawwal 20
Shawwal 21
Based on Ummul Qura Calendar System of Saudi Arabia,
may be different in result compared to calendars which use rukyat system (based on observation).

Previous Month - Today - Next Month

Months of the Islamic Calendar

1. Muharram: A sacred month, so called because battle and all kinds of fighting are forbidden during this month.

2. Safar: Supposedly named thus because the Arabs used to leave their homes during that month as they used to set out to fight their enemies. It is also said that they used to leave their homes to escape summer heat.

3. Rabi al-Awwal: is named so because it usually coincides with the spring time. Also means to graze, because cattle were grazed during this month.

4. Rabi al-Thani: is named so because it usually coincides with the winter time.

5. Jumada al-Awwal: is named so because water gets frozen at winter time, and that coincides with the time of this month.

6. Jumada al-Thani: is named so because it coincides with winter time.

7. Rajab: is derived from the Arabic word ‘rajaba’ which means to ‘sanctify’ something. This is the second sacred month in which fighting is forbidden.

8. Sha'ban: Marked the time of year when Arab tribes dispersed to find water. Sha'ban may also be related to a verb meaning "to be in between two things" and it was called thus because the month lies between Rajab and Ramaḍan.

9. Ramadan: Supposedly so called because of high temperatures caused by the excessive heat of the sun. Ramaḍan is the most venerated month of the Hijri calendar. During this time, Muslims must fast from pre-dawn till sunset and should give charity to the poor and needy.

10. Shawwal: The name Shawwal is derived from the Arabic word 'tashawwala', which refers to the scarcity in she-camels' milk.

11. Dhul Qa'dah: This is a holy month during which war is banned.

12. Dhul-Hijjah: During this month Muslim pilgrims from all around the world congregate at Mecca to visit the Kaaba. The Hajj is performed on the eighth, ninth and the tenth of this month. Day of Arafah takes place on the ninth of the month. Eid al-Adha, the "Festival of the Sacrifice", begins on the tenth day and ends on sunset of the twelfth, and during which war is banned.

Gregorian to Hijri Calendar Converter

Hijri to Gregorian Calendar Converter